Major program:  The Government Department offers courses in four different concentrations of study within political science: American politics and public policy, comparative politics, international politics, and political theory. We offer general introductory courses to each concentration, a range of upper-division courses, and research seminars. In addition, we offer courses in research methods in political science, tutorials, and education in the field.

Sample Courses:  Global Environmental Politics; Democracy and Dictatorship: Politics in the Contemporary World; American Constitutional Law; United States Foreign Policy; Latin American Politics; Comparative Politics of the Middle East

Number of Professors: 24

Government Building
Title: Student Spotlight
Government Building

Lucas Hidalgo

Government Major, Class of '10

Specific Interests: "International Politics.  I am particularly interested in diplomatic relations between states and how these relations are reflective of the local society."