Logo: Wesleyan Athletics
2000 ECAC New England Division III Field Hockey Champions
2000 ECAC Championship Photo
Brief tournament summary: Seeded fourth in a field of eight teams, Wesleyan defeated fifth-seeded Conn. College at home, 1-0 in double overtime, as Laura Pfeiffenberger '03 netted the game winner on an assist from Carlin Aloe '01. Pfeiffenberger picked up her second game winner when she posted a second-half tally, assisted by Sonya Behnke '03, for a 1-0 win at Tufts in the semi-finals. Aloe, named tournament MVP, gave Wesleyan its second consecutive title when she broke a 1-1 tie with 5:08 remaining in the second overtime for a 2-1 victory over Clark in the championship game played at Tufts. With her two shutouts in the tournament, goalie Taryn Hutchins-Cabibi '01 upped her career total to 19, a team record. Wesleyan was the 1999 ECAC titlist with a 13-4 record and equalled the team mark for wins in a season behind its 13-5 campaign in 2000.