Womens Soccer

Laura Kurash '13 is First-Team All-NESCAC, Dasha Battelle '11 is Second Team - Team Captains for 2011 Named

After leading the Cardinals in scoring for a second straight season, Laura Kurash '13 (#8, left side photo) garnered first-team all-NESCAC honors in 2010.  A year ago, Kurash was the NESCAC Rookie of the Year and a second-team selection after a vote of the NESCAC coaches.  Getting second-team laurels for the Cardinals this season was Dasha Battelle '11 (#15, right side photo), a four-year stalwart in the midfield who, like Kurash, was one of just four Wesleyan players to start each of the squad's 14 contests during a 5-5-4 campaign.

Kurash racked up nine goals and three assists to total 21 points in 2010, placing her third among NESCAC players for points per game (1.50).  She netted three game-winning goals, all in NESCAC affairs, as she had the deciding marker in wins over Bowdoin, Bates and Conn. College.  The triumphs over Bowdoin (3-2) and Bates (1-0, 2 OTs) were first-ever road wins over the Maine rivals.  Wesleyan had been 0-14 at Bowdoin prior to 2010 and 0-5 at Bates.  With six goals and three assists as a freshman, including a school-record four-goal, two-assist effort vs. Smith for a 10-point game, Kurash now has 15 goals and six assists for 36 points in her young career.

Battelle, with her first NESCAC award, has been a consistent starter for the Cardinals since arriving in 2007.  Playing in 56 of a possible 57 games over four seasons, Battelle has started 36 games.  Adding two goals and two assists to her career total in 2010, Battelle finished with nine goals and seven assists for 25 points.

Wesleyan fashioned its first-ever winning NESCAC record in 2010 with a 3-2-4 mark while securing the sixth seed in the NESCAC tournament.  That earned the Cardinals a trip to Williams for an opening-round matchup in the playoffs and the Ephs broke an early 1-1 tie to go on for a 4-1 win.  Williams went on to claim the NESCAC title and an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

With a 5-4-4 overall record during the 2010 regular season, Wesleyan posted its third straight winning ledger and qualified for its third NESCAC tournament in a row after failing to make the playoff field the previous eight years the NESCAC tournament has been held. 

Team captains for the 2011 campaign were named in December.  Kurash is one of the four captains for next season, joined by Emma Nitzberg '12, Hannah Stuckey '12 and Mikaela Curtin '13.

(photos courtesy of Peter Stein '84)