Cardinals Place 6 on All-NESCAC Football Squads with LaDarius Drew '15 Also Getting Rookie of the Year

Matching last year's record-tying performance of six all-NESCAC honorees in football, Wesleyan had three first-team choices and three second-team choices in 2011, precisely the same mix as 2010, however, the Cardinals also added NESCAC Rookie of the Year to its list as LaDarius Drew '15 (#30, photo insert upper right) earned that accolade along with his second-team honor.

Named to the first team were offensive lineman Jake Sheffer '14 (#62, photo insert upper left), who earned a starting spot for the first time this year and helped Wesleyan average 136 yards rushing and 134 yards passing with a 13.0-point scoring average; Colin Hartwig '12 (#49 in lower photo), who helped anchor the defensive line from his end position with 32 total tackles, including 1.5 sacks, and a pair of interceptions; and Jake Bussani '14 (#15 in lower photo), who earned a starting spot in the secondary and led the team and the NESCAC in pass breakups with eight, was tied for third in interceptions with four and added 36 tackles.  Hartwig brought his tackle total to 86 over his four years as a letterwinner.

Along with Drew, who finished third in the league in rushing yards with 726, believed to be the highest seasonal figure ever recorded by a Wesleyan freshman in varsity play, and scored seven TDs, punter Jesse Warren '15 and linebacker Cyprian Oyomba '12 made the second team.  Oyomba was a first-team choice in 2010 and picked up 72 tackles in 2011 to rank second on the Cardinal squad and tie for fifth in the NESCAC.  He was in on 2.5 sacks while upping his career tackle total to an impressive 274 with seven sacks as a four-year starter.

In both 2000 and 2002, Wesleyan had six individuals honored by the NESCAC, as was the case in 2010.  Wesleyan had the Rookie of the Year in both 2000 and 2002, giving the Cardinals three such standouts over the last 12 seasons.  Wesleyan had the only two freshman honored in any way by the NESCAC this season in the persons of Drew and Warren while Bussani and Sheffer were two of just seven sophomores named to the first or second team.