Jordan Greene '12, Laura Kurash '13, Tommie Lark '12, Alex Meadow '12 & Casey Reed '12 Receive Major Awards during Annual Athletics Banquet

award winners 2011-12Laura Kurash '13 (far left) was the recipient the Suki Hoagland '78 Award for outstanding contributions to women's athletics at Wesleyan during the 2011-12 year.  Securing the Carl Aherns '60 for outstanding contributions to men's athletics was Tommie Lark '12 (left of podium).  The Roger Maynard Award on the men's side went to both Alex Meadow '12 (right of podium) and Jordan Greene '12 (not pictured) while the women's award winner was Casey Reed '12 (second from right).  Joining the award recipients in the photo is (far right) athletics director John Biddiscombe, who announced the winners of the Hoagland and Aherns Award at the annual all-sports banquet held in Beckham Hall Wed., May 2.  Marina Melendez (not pictured), dean of the class of 2014, presented the Maynard Awards, which go to the top senior male and female scholar-athletes.

Kurash has been the leading scorer on the women's soccer team each of her three seasons and has been honored by the NESCAC each year, too.  She has twice been named first-team all-NESCAC (2011 and 2010) after debuting as NESCAC Rookie of the Year as well as a second-team pick in 2009.  With 13 goals and four assists for 30 points in 2011, Kurash netted six game-winning goals.  She was also named first-team all-New England by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, a CoSIDA/Capital One District II academic All-American and has received NESCAC all-academic honors the last two seasons.

Lark is the Wesleyan record-holder in both the indoor and outdoor triple jump, a two-time NESCAC triple-jump champion and a three-time NCAA All-American in the event, having placed fifth nationally indoors in 2012 after finishing sixth in 2011.  He was the eighth-place finisher in Division III outdoors in 2011. 

Meadow, a team tri-captain, is a four-year starter in baseball and is currently tied for second on the all-time Wesleyan hits list with 180.  He has a career .332 batting average, having played and started 137 of a possible 143 games heading into his final weekend of action.  He is just nine hits shy of the all-time Wesleyan hits record.  He was a two-time academic all-NESCAC selection.

Reed, a team co-captain and two-time academic all-NESCAC choice, started at outside hitter for the women's volleyball team for four years and paced the team in kills each of the last three seasons.  Her career kills total of 1,139 stands seventh all-time at Wesleyan.

Greene was a three -year starter in the defensive backfield for the football squad while playing in all 32 games over his four years.  Ranking fourth on the team in tackles in 2011 with 46 while serving as a team quad-captain, Greene racked up 164 career stops, had four interceptions and broke up 17 passes during his four seasons.  He also was a mainstay on special teams and a two-time academic all-NESCAC honoree.

Each of the three Maynard Award winners sports a cumulative GPA in excess of 3.60.

Wesleyan also announced the individual award winners for the year in a majority of its sports. Here is a complete listing of all seasonal award winners with the exceptions of men's and women's crew and baseball, which have not yet concluded their campaigns.  (Note - The Jones Award is presented in all women's sports for outstanding achievement):
Baseball - MacNaughten Award (outstanding achievement) - Not yet awarded
Men's Basketball - Morningstar Award (sportsmanship, determinaton, leadershio and unselfishness) - Jason Mendell '12
Women's Basketball - Jones Award - Sam LaCroce '12
Men's Crew - Founder's Oar (outstanding oarsman) - Not yet awarded ; Captain's Oar (dedication & sportsmanship) - Not yet awarded
Women's Crew - Jones Award - Not yet awarded ; Coxswains Award (upperclass rower with high technical skill and consistency) - Not yet awarded
Men's Cross Country - J. Elmer Swanson Award (commitment to teams' success & individual improvement) - Skyler Cummins '13
Women's Cross Country - Jones Award - Hannah Zimmerman '13
Field Hockey - Jones Award - Morgan McCauley '12
Football - Bacon Award (contribued most to team's success) - Colin Hartwig '12 ; Eck Award (spirit, sportsmanship & devotion) - Matt Coyne '12 & Jordan Greene '12 ; Yohan Award (senior who excels in Little Three games) - Justin Freres '11
Golf - Wood Award (outstanding player) - Pete Taylor '12
Men's Ice Hockey - Spurrier Award (MVP) - Nik Tasiopoulos '14 ; Scanlon/LaCross Award (exemplary character and effort) - Tom Salah '12
Women's Ice Hockey - Jones Award - Jill Reynolds '12
Men's Lacrosse - MVP Award - Grant Covington '12 ; Call Award (spirit, sportsmanship, unselfishness & devotion) - John Froats '12
Women's Lacrosse - Jones Award - Maggie Drowica '12
Men's Soccer - Walsh Award (outstanding ability & leadership) - Rory O'Neill '13 ; O'Rourke Award (love for soccer, his fellow man and life) - Zach Dixon '12
Women's Soccer - Jones Award - Laura Kurash '13
Softball - Jones Award - Allee Beatty '13 & Chrissy Bello '12 ; Frummer Award (highest batting average) - Allee Beatty '13
Men's Squash - Salaun Award (commitment to team's success & individual improvement) - Keitaro Sagawa '12
Women's Squash - Jones Award - Meherazade Sumariwalla '12
Men's Swimming & Diving - McCurdy Award (leadership & sportsmanship) - Momo Saleh '12
Women's Swimming & Diving - Jones Award - Cara Colker-Eybel '13
Men's Tennis - Wood Award (leadership, discipline, competitive spirit and sportsmanship) - Stephen Monk '15 ; Millett/Burton Award (top doubles player) - Jeff Legunn '13
Women's Tennis - Jones Award
- Sarah Miller '12 & Grace Smith '14
Men's Track (Indoor)
- Coaches Award (outstanding leadership, loyalty, dedication, performance, unselfish behavior & determination) - Tommie Lark '12
Women's Track (Indoor) - Jones Award - Sierra Livious '14
Men's Track & Field - Martin Award (sportsmanship, friendship & leadership) - LaDarius Drew '15
Women's Track and Field - Jones Award - Hannah Zimmerman '13
Women's Volleyball - Jones Award - Casey Reed '12
Wrestling - MVP Award - Luke Erickson '12 & Howard Tobochnik '13

The video presentation on display during the banquet, highlighting seniors, but also showing some video highlights from various teams, can be viewed by clicking < here >.  It is about 10 minutes in length.