Intellectual Property

How do I cite my work?

Here are some Wesleyan-created documents addressing citation queries.

"Citing Archival Documents - A Short Guide," Wesleyan University Library

"Citing Sources," Special Collections and Archives

"Citing What You Find, The Road to Research," Wesleyan University Library

"Finding Information on the Web: Citing What You Find," Wesleyan University Library

"Writing a Science Paper," Steven Devoto, Wesleyan University

If you know of another great Wesleyan Web page that deals with citing work, please send it to us.

EndNote makes it easy

EndNote is a software program that allows you to search online bibliographic databases, organize references, images and PDFs, build figure lists, and create bibliographies using many different reference styles.

Where Can I Find EndNote?

  • EndNote is available on most campus Macs and PCs.
  • Wesleyan students and faculty can download a free copy of EndNote from ITS.
  • Check our EndNote tutorial for information on finding and using EndNote.

For further assistance:

  • Kendall Hobbs, Reference and Instruction Librarian, Olin Library, 685-3962 orkhobbs@wesleyan.edu

Or, take a look at Zotero.

Zotero offers another way to track and compile references, manage citations and produce bibliographic sheets. It is Web based, so you can access your bibliography from any computer.

Where Can I Find Zotero?

  • Zotero is a free Firefox extension that will work on your Mac and your PC. Go to their Web site to find out how to use it and why you'll want to http://www.zotero.org/
  • Or talk to Kendall Hobbs, Reference and Instruction Librarian, Olin Library, 685-3962 or khobbs@wesleyan.edu

Here are some useful links to reference styles for citations, bibliographies and formatting:

For assistance

Library Reference Desk reference@wesleyan.edu, ext. 3873
Kendall Hobbs, Reference and Instruction Librarian, Olin Library, 685-3962 orkhobbs@wesleyan.edu
Interlibrary Loan Office Ill@wesleyan.edu, ext. 3876 (for help finding a book outside the Wesleyan libraries)
Trevor West, Library Assistant - Acquisitions, twest@wesleyan.edu, ext. 3834 (to ask the library to purchase a book)
Eunjoo Lee, Access Services Librarian, elee01@wesleyan.edu, ext. 3454 (for questions about the e-reserve system or the Copyright Clearance Center)
 

For more information

United States Copyright Office http://www.copyright.gov/
The Teach Act Toolkit: NCSU Libraries http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/scc/legislative/teachkit/
Copyright on Campus http://www.copyrightoncampus.com/
Education World http://www.education-world.com/a_curr/curr280e.shtml
Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/texts/bookmobile.php#thebookmobile
Project Gutenberg http://www.gutenberg.org/
Internet Public Library: Books http://www.ipl.org/div/books/
CCC's Using Course Management Systems http://www.copyright.com/media/pdfs/Using-Course-Management-Systems.pd
Creative Commons http://creativecommons.org/
Creative Commons search http://search.creativecommons.org/
United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural organization's Copyright pagehttp://portal.unesco.org/culture/en/ev.php-URL_ID=12313&URL_DO=DO_TOPIC&URL_SECTION=201.html
Web Law FAQ http://www.patents.com/weblaw.htm
Chilling Effects http://www.chillingeffects.org/
Russell, C. (2004) Complete Copyright, An Everyday Guide for Librarians. American Library Association.
Stim, R. (2004) Getting permission, how to license & clear copyrighted materials online & off. Berkeley, Nolo
Butler, R. P. (2004). Copyright for teachers and librarians. New York, Neal-Schuman Publishers.
Crews, K. D. (2000). Copyright essentials for librarians and educators. Chicago, IL, American Library Association.
Vaidhyanathan, S. (2001). Copyrights and copywrongs: the rise of intellectual property and how it threatens creativity. New York, New York University Press.