Making Excellence Inclusive

Presidential Task Force

The Presidential task force is charged with oversight of the initiative, examining internal data and external information so as to determine specific areas for further study, reviewing departmental process and outcomes, and making recommendations to the president regarding institutional change. The previous task force members included:


Michael Whaley
Vice President for Student Affairs

Ruth Striegel Weissman

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Marina Melendez

Interim Chief Diversity Officer

Dean for the Class of 2014

Task Force Support:

Trisha Stephenson Gordon

Affirmative Action Specialist
Administrative Manager
Office of Diversity and Institutional Partnerships


Task Force Members:

Christian Hosam '15
WSA Representative, Class 2015
WSA Academic Affairs Committee

Benjiman (Ben) Jackson
Personal Computer Specialist
Information Technology Services


Heric Flores-Rueda

Manager of Instructional Media Services

Information Technology Services

Carolyn Sorkin

Director, Office of International Studies

Kate Mullen

Women’s Basketball Coach,

Associate Athletic Director

Adjunct Full ProfessorFreeman Athletic Center


Martha Gilmore

Associate Professor of Earth & Environmental Sciences

Earth and Environmental Sciences Department

Robert (Bob) Rosenbaum

University Professor of Sciences and Mathematics

Chairman of PIMMS

Jennifer Tucker

Associate Professor of History

Associate Professor, Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality StudiesFeminist, Gender, and Sexuality StudiesAssociate Professor, Science in SocietyScience in Society Program


Anu (Aradhana) Sharma

Associate Professor of Anthropology

Associate Professor of Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Barry Chernoff

Professor of Biology
Chair, Environmental Studies Program
Director, College of the Environment
Professor of Earth & Environmental Sciences

Professor of Environmental Studies

Robert Schumann Professor of Environmental Studies