American Studies

Meet the Sustainability Office

Wesleyan University has been involved in sustainability efforts since the 1980s, when it began a recycling program.  The SAGES committee has strengthened Wesleyan's sustainability efforts through the creation of a climate action plan and numerous projects and programs.  With the creation of the Sustainability Office in 2012, Wesleyan has further demonstrated its commitment to promoting true sustainability.

Sustainability Director

Jen Kleindienst, Sustainability Coordinator

Jen Kleindienst began as Wesleyan's first Sustainability Coordinator in July 2012 and became Sustainability Director in July 2015. Jen is passionate about building a more sustainable world and loves putting ideas into action on the Wesleyan campus. She works to coordinate sustainability efforts between students, faculty, staff, and administrators, and create new programs to foster sustainable thinking and acting. Before coming to Wesleyan, Jen worked in the sustainability offices at Tufts University, St. Michael's College, and MIT. Jen holds an M.S. in Environmental Studies from Antioch University New England and a B.A. from Hamilton College.


Sustainability Interns

Zack Kaufman '16
Residential Composting Intern

Mira Klein '17
Eco Facilitators Co-Coordinator

Ari Lewenstein '16
Communications Intern and Waste Not Co-Coordinator

Rachael Metz '16
Eco Facilitators Co-Coordinator

Dara Mysliwiec '16
Residential Compostin Intern

Natasha Nurjadin '18
Sustainability Intern

Michael Ortiz '17
Sustainability Intern and Waste Not Co-Coordinator

Matt Pelton '17
Dining Composting Intern

Max Winter '16
Dining Composting Intern

Eco Facilitators

Sara Bennett '18
Laura Bither '18
Kelvin Cuesta '18
Sarah Dobrow '18
Juliet Gelfman-Randazzo '18
Andrew Hirsh '18
Derrick Holman '16
Sage Loomis '18
Emily Murphy '18
Chidubem Daniel Okechi '18
Irvine Peck's-Agaya '18
Paula Tartell '18
Sara Wallace-Lee '18
Ann-Dorie Webley '18
Olivia Won '18