Meet the Sustainability Office

Wesleyan University has been involved in sustainability efforts since the 1980s, when it began a recycling program.  The SAGES committee strengthened Wesleyan's sustainability efforts through the creation of a climate action plan and numerous projects and programs.  With the creation of the Sustainability Office in 2012, Wesleyan has further demonstrated its commitment to promoting true sustainability.

Sustainability Director

Jen Kleindienst began as Wesleyan's first Sustainability Coordinator in July 2012 and became Sustainability Director in July 2015. Jen is passionate about building a more sustainable world and loves putting ideas into action on the Wesleyan campus. She works to coordinate sustainability efforts between students, faculty, staff, and administrators, and create new programs to foster sustainable thinking and acting. Before coming to Wesleyan, Jen worked in the sustainability offices at Tufts University, St. Michael's College, and MIT. Jen holds an M.S. in Environmental Studies from Antioch University New England and a B.A. from Hamilton College.

Sustainability Office Interns

Bela Camacho-Horvitz '20
Composting Intern

Sarah Dobrow '18
Composting Intern

Natasha Nurjadin '18
Sustainability Intern and Waste Not Co-Coordinator

Belén Rodríguez '19
Eco Facilitators Co-Coordinator 2017-18

Katie Shewfelt '20
Sustainability Intern and Waste Not Co-Coordinator

Rose Shuker-Haines '20
Composting Intern

Kati Young '19
Eco Facilitators Co-Coordinator 2017-18

Eco Facilitators 2017-18

Alea Laidlaw '20 and Alex Olvera '20
200 Church

Phie Towle '20 and Yuan Wang '20

Leo Miranda '20 and Hye Kyung Moon '20
Butterfield A

Emmy Hughes '20 and Noah Langat '20
Butterfield C

Carina Bolaños Lewen '20 and Tiler Wilson '20

Lily Davis '20 and Ashley Morse '19

Meera Joshi '20 and Kofi Ofori-Darko '20
West College