The Driftless Connecticut Series

The Driftless Connecticut Series is a publication award program established in 2010 to recognize excellent books with a Connecticut focus or written by a Connecticut author. To be eligible, the book must have a Connecticut topic or setting or an author must have been born in Connecticut or have been a legal resident of Connecticut for at least three years.

The Driftless Connecticut Series is funded by the
Beatrice Fox Auerbach Foundation Fund
at the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving.

Heroes for All Time:
Connecticut Civil War Soldiers Tell Their Stories 
by Dione Longley and Buck Zaidel

Case of the Piglet's Paternity:
Trials from New Haven Colony, 1639-1663
by Jon C. Blue

Homegrown Terror: 
Benedict Arnold and the Burning of New London
by Eric D. Lehman

The Logbooks: 
Connecticut's Slave Ships and Human Memory
by Anne Farrow 

Prudence Crandall's Legacy:
The Fight for Equality in the 1830s, Dred Scott, and Brown v. Board of Education

by Donald E. Williams, Jr.

The British Raid on Essex:
The Forgotten Battle of the War of 1812

by Jerry Roberts

Local Government in Connecticut, Third Edition
by Frank B. Connolly, with Roger L. Kemp and Philip K. Schenck

Becoming Tom Thumb:
Charles Stratton, P.T. Barnum, and the Dawn of American Celebrity

by Eric D. Lehman

New Haven Sentinels:
The Art and Science of East Rock and West Rock 
by Jelle Zelinga de Boer; John Wareham, photographer

End of the Line:
Closing the Last Sardine Cannery in America 
by Markham Starr

Ella Grasso:
Connecticut's Pioneering Governor
by Jon E. Purmont

Garnet Poems:
An Anthology of Connecticut Poetry Since 1776
edited by Dennis Barone

Post Roads & Iron Horses:
Transportation in Connecticut from Colonial Times to the Age of Steam
by Richard DeLuca

Connecticut in the American Civil War:
Slavery, Sacrifice, and Survival
by Matthew Warshauer

Gervase Wheeler: 
A British Architect in America, 1847-1860

by Renee Tribert and James F. O'Gorman

Connecticut's Fife and Drum Tradition
by James Clark

Crowbar Governor:
The Life and Times of Morgan Gardner Bulkeley
by Kevin Murphy


For Information on The Driftless Series, established in 2009, click here.