Latin American Studies (LAST) is an interdisciplinary program designed to provide an integrated view of Mesoamerica, South America, and the Caribbean. This interdisciplinary approach is complemented by concentration in a specific department. The purpose of the concentration is to assure that the student majoring in Latin American Studies has mastered the substance and methods of at least one established academic discipline. A student who completes the program will receive a degree in Latin American Studies with a concentration in a particular department. A double major in the department of concentration is an option for Latin American Studies majors.

With an understanding of a different culture, students who major in LAST often pursue careers in public service, international business, teaching or translation, interpretation and more.

What You'll Study

  • As a LAST major, you'll be required to complete 12 semester courses: either six in LAST and at least six in a department of concentration; or seven in LAST and five in a department concentration. As a major, you must also complete the LAST research requirement by writing a paper centrally concerned with Latin America, written in either English or Spanish. A thesis or senior essay will also satisfy this requirement.

  • Acceptable departments of concentration are those with an affiliated Latin American Studies faculty member. In 2019-20, those departments are Economics, History, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Government, Hispanic Literatures and Cultures, or Spanish. With the approval of the chair, students may concentrate in other departments that have faculty members with substantial knowledge of and interest in Latin America and/or the Caribbean. 

  • Latin American studies majors are encouraged to spend a semester or a year on a program in Latin America approved by the University’s International Studies Committee. Credit is regularly granted toward the Latin American Studies major through the University's pre-approved programs in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Mexico, and the Turks and Caicos islands.