Hugo L. Black Lecture on Freedom of Expression

The lecture is named in honor of U. S. Supreme Court Justice Hugo Black. The series is designed to bring to the Wesleyan campus distinguished public figures and scholars with experience and expertise in matters related to the First Amendment and freedom of expression. This lecture, which is endowed by Leonard S. Halpert ’44, is offered annually.


The 27th Hugo L. Black Lecture on Freedom of Expression: John Finn

GUN NUTS & SPEECH FREAKS: A Guide to the Alt-Constitution
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Memorial Chapel


The 26th Hugo L. Black Lecture on Freedom of Expression: Linda Greenhouse

Writing the Truth in the Age of Trump

The 25th Hugo L. Black Lecture on Freedom of Expression: Stanley Fish

Micro-Agressions, Trigger Warnings, Cultural "Appropriations" and History: What's Happening on Campus

Stanley Fish, Free Speech, and the Job of the University by Arthur Halliday '16

Speech and Independence: The Wrongs of Corporate Speech Delivered by Lawrence Lessig

The First Amendment, Knowledge, and Academic Freedom Delivered by Robert Post

First Amendment Is an Information Policy Delivered by Jack M. Balkin

Hugo L. Black Lecturers 1991 - 2016

A. Leon Higginbotham Jr.
Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals  for
the Third Circuit, Philadelphia

Rodney Smolla
University of Richmond Law School

Harry A. Blackmun
Supreme Court of the United States

Margaret Marshall
Chief Justice
Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts

Anthony Lewis
Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist,
The New York Times

Cass Sunstein
School of Law
University of Chicago

Nadine Strossen
American Civil Liberties Union

Patricia Williams
Professor of Law
Columbia University

Abner Mikva
Former Chief Judge, U.S. Court of
Appeals for the District of Columbia

Laurence H. Tribe
Carl M. Loeb University Professor,
Harvard University

Norman Dorsen
Stokes Professor of Law,
NYU School of Law

Lawrence Lessig
Director of the Edmond J. Safra Foundation
Center for Ethic and Professor,
Harvard Law School

Patricia Wald
Circuit Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for
the District of Columbia

Jack M. Balkin
Knight Professor of Constitutional Law and the
First Amendment, Founder and Director of the
Information Society Project, and Director of the
Knight Law and Media Program, Yale Law School

Floyd Abrahms
William J. Brennan Visiting Professor of
First Amendment Law, Columbia University

Antonin Scalia
Associate Justice
Supreme Court of the United States

Kathleen Sullivan
Stanford Law School

Geoffrey R. Stone
Edward H. Levi Distinguished Service Professor
University of Chicago Law School

Nat Hentoff
Award-winning author and journalist

Aharon Barak
President of the Israeli Supreme Court (Ret.),
IDC Herzliya

Lee C. Bollinger
Columbia University

Robert C. Post
Dean, Yale Law School, and Sol and Lillian
Goldman Professor of Law

Anthony D. Romero
Executive Director
American Civil Liberties Union

Stanley Fish
The Davidson-Kahn Distinguished University
Professor and Professor of Law,
Florida International University