Binswanger Committee

The Binswanger Prize for Excellence in Teaching was inaugurated in 1993 as an institutional recognition of outstanding faculty members. One to three Binswanger Prizes are presented each year and are made possible by the generosity of the Binswanger family that counts numerous Wesleyan alumni, alumnae and parents in its ranks. The standards and criteria for the annual prizes shall be excellence in teaching, as exemplified by commitment to the classroom and student accomplishment, intellectual demands placed on students, lucidity and passion. The Selection Committee, comprised of three Wesleyan faculty members and leadership from the Alumni Association, meet annually to select the recipients. Alumni eligible to submit recommendations consist of the members of each of the last 10 graduating classes, (BA and graduate alumni), current juniors, seniors and graduate students. The Binswanger Prizes are presented during the Commencement Ceremony.

Committee Members 2021-2022

Vanessa Mesina ’04, Chair (New York, NY)
Lecturer & Course Co-Director for the International Students/Undergraduate Writing Program, Columbia University

Gloster Aaron (Middletown, CT)
Associate Professor of Biology, Wesleyan University

Lisa Dombrowski ’92 (New Haven, CT) 
Associate Professor of Film Studies, Wesleyan University

Bobby Donaldson ’93 (Columbia, SC)
Associate Professor of History, University of South Carolina

Erika Franklin Fowler (Middletown, CT) 
Professor of Government, Wesleyan University

David A. Hill ’86 (Silver Spring, MD) 
President, DHill Professional Services LLC