1983-84 Wrestling Team

1983-84 Wrestling Team

This team out-pointed 14 other Division III teams to win Wesleyan’s first New England College Conference Wrestling Association Championship. During the dual-meet season, Wesleyan set a then school record for victories in a season with a 14-2-1 mark, eclipsing the record set by the 1982-83 squad which fashioned a 13-1 mark. The 1983-84 season highlighted a brilliant period for Wesleyan wrestling under head coach John Biddiscombe. The Cardinals put together a streak of 11 consecutive winning seasons from 1977-88 and captured eight straight outright Little Three titles from 1981-89, including victories over Williams, 43-0, and Amherst, 36-7, during 1983-84. From 1982-85, Wesleyan enjoyed a 38-7-1 dual-meet record and was 6-0 in Little Three matches.

In the above photograph, from left to Right:

Front row: Elizabeth Datner (manager), John Rodgers, Ira Skolnick, William Dunham, Eric Krasnoo (co-captain), Michael Skalla (co-captain), Scott Pryce, Anthony Zimmerman, Heather Hathaway (manager).

Second row: Michael Cooper, James Freeman, Joseph Crivelli, Peter Crivelli, Paul Amoruso, Francis O'Boyle, Simon Heart, Nathaniel Hurwitz, Robert Liddell.

Third row: John Biddiscombe (head coach), Adam Taub, Lawrence DeGaris, Porter Wiley, David Robinson, Richard Baum, Arthur Horst, Matthew Skalla, Michael Whalen (assistant coach).

Missing from photo: Nancy Bean (manager) and John LaCrosse