Mens Soccer

Rory O'Neill '13 is All-American & Academic All-American to Follow up Adam Purdy '13 as NESCAC Men's Soccer Player of the Year

Starting all 69 games for Wesleyan during his four-year career, goalie Adam Purdy '13 (#30, right-side photo by Peter Stein '84) garnered NESCAC men's soccer Player of the Year honors for 2012 along with his third selection to the all-NESCAC first team after leading Wesleyan to a 8-3-3 regular-season record and the third seed in the NESCAC tournament.  In the NESCAC playoffs, the Cardinals defeated Trinity in the first round, 2-1, before falling to eventual champion Amherst in the semifinals, 1-0.  Wesleyan received its fifth NCAA Division III Tournament bid in the last eight years and ended with a 9-4-4 ncaa soccer logorecord after taking on Centennial Conference champion Haverford (12-7-1) in the opening round Sat., Nov. 10 at Arcadia U. in Glenside, Pa.  Wesleyan recovered from a one-goal deficit in each half to forge a 2-2 deadlock after two overtime periods.  Haverford went on to advance on penalty kicks, 4-2, and earn a second-round spot against Stevens Tech, a 2-0 victor over Methodist.

Purdy was not alone as a Wesleyan honoree in 2012.  Leading scorer Rory O'Neill '13 (#7, left-side photo), also was a first-team all-NESCAC pick.  The midfielder earned three honors from the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) as he was an All-American for the second time in his career, finding a spot on the third team in 2012; was named second-team academic All-American; and was a first-team all-New England south pick.  In addition he received CoSIDA/Capital One District II academic All-America honors.  O'Neill joined Vezir Ajro '92 as the only two-time Division III All-Americans in men's soccer at Wesleyan.  Marion Stoj '74 also was an All-American twice (1971 & 1973) but predated the founding of Division III as did Henri Salaun '49 with his two honors in 1947 and 1948.  O'Neill was an all-NESCAC first-team, all-New England first-team and All-America second-team pick in 2011.  He had six goals and an assist in 2012.  Chris Kuehn '13 and Ben Bratt '15 both found a spot on the all-NESCAC second team.  Kuehn has scored on goal this year from his midfield spot.  Bratt is a stalwart at wing back as one of just four Cardinals to start all 16 games this season.  Following the season, Purdy, O'Neill and Cabell Maddux '13 were all selected to participate in the New England Intercollegiate Soccer League (NEISL) Division III senior all-star game, played at Harvard Sun., Nov 25.

Over the 2012 season, Purdy, who was also named an NSCAA New England South second-team all-region pick, played all but 11 minutes in net for the Cardinals with 1599 minutes of work.  He allowed 11 goals with 56 saves, good for a .836 save percentage and a 0.62 goals-against average.  He added seven shutouts to his career total, which now stands at 31, an all-time Wesleyan record.  For his career, Purdy has a 40-17-12 record with a 0.71 goals-against average and a .842 save percentage in 6,467.5 minutes played.   He has anchored the Cardinals to three NCAA appearances over his four seasons, including 2009 when Wesleyan reached the round of 16.  That year as a freshman, Purdy was named NESCAC Rookie of the Year, first-team all-NESCAC for the first time and also earned all-New England honors as well as third-team All-America laurels from the NSCAA.  In 2009, Purdy logged 10 shutouts with a 12-2-5 record.  He had a 0.50 goals-against average and a .886 save percentage. 

In 2011, Purdy was a first-team all-NESCAC choice for a second time as Wesleyan was seeded second in the NESCAC tournament with a 7-1-2 conference record.  That season, Purdy posted a career-best 11 shutouts with a 0.62 goals-against average and a .867 save percentage while going 11-3-3 on the year.

With Laura Kurash '13 named 2012 women's soccer Player of the Year in the NESCAC, Purdy becomes the fifth Wesleyan athlete to receive the praise since 2000.  Lisa Drennan '09 was a two-time winner in women's volleyball (2006 and 2008) while John Landay '01 was the first Cardinal to pick up the accolade as a senior in men's lacrosse, followed by Alexis Keeler '02 in women's volleyball during the fall of 2001.

In 2012, the Cardinals failed to advance past the first round of the NCAAs for the first time when Haverford captured a 4-2 edge on penalty kicks.  Twice in the contest the Cardinals recovered from a one-goal deficit, doing so in the first half on a header by O'Neill for his team-best sixth goal of the season, set up by Brandon Sousa's '16 free kick.  After the Fords regained the advantage in the 77th minute, the first goal of the year by Hans Erickson '16 in the 87th minute was the impetus to move the contest into 20 minutes of scoreless overtime.  Daniel Issroff '15 assisted on the tying marker.  A pair of saves by the Haverford netminder during the PK session proved to be the difference in the outcome, though official recorded as a 2-2 draw.

In additon, the Wesleyan men’s soccer team was the only silver-medal award winner from the NSCAA in its Division III ethics/sportsmanship awards as the Cardinals had the fewest yellow cards of any Division III team in the nation with five over their 17 games.  In contrast, Wesleyan's opponents amassed 19 yellow cards.