Language Conversation Tables at Wesleyan

These language conversation tables provide an opportunity to practice the target language with other speakers of the language outside of class. Some of these language tables are led by Foreign Language Teaching Assistants (FLTAs) and Teaching Assistants (TAs) in that target language. Since most of these language conversations occur during lunchtime, participants are encouraged to bring their own food to the conversation tables. 

 

Meeting day, time, and location

Who can participate

Contact for more information:

Chinese

Meets every Tuesday at 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm in Usdan 104D

Open to second-year Chinese learners and beyond. Other students who want to practice/speak Chinese are encouraged to participate.

Zhu Laoshi 

xzhu@wesleyan.edu 

French

Meets every Thursday at 12:00pm-1:00pm in the quiet side of Usdan

Open to all speakers of French (previous, current, or interested students)

Jeff Rider

jrider@wesleyan.edu 

Hebrew

Meets twice a semester:

November 6, 2018; Lunch 

November 30, 2018; Lunch 

Only open to students enrolled in Hebrew

Dalit Katz

dkatz01@weselyan.edu 

Italian

Caffè Italiano meets every Monday at 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm in the quiet side Usdan

Open to all speakers of Italian

Ellen Nerenberg

enerenberg@wesleyan.edu 

Japanese

Meets every Thursday 12:00 pm-1:00 pm in Fisk 201

Open to current and previous students learning Japanese and native speakers of Japanese

Naho Maruta

nmaruta@wesleyan.edu 

Korean

Meets every Tuesday 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm in Boger Hall 110

Open to students, staff, and faculty on campus. Please bring your own lunch and converse with native speakers

Hyejoo Back 

hback@wesleyan.edu 

Portuguese

Meets three times a semester

Open to Portuguese students and Lusophone community on campus 

Elizabeth Jackson

ejackson@wesleyan.edu     

 

Spanish

Meets everyday, 12:00 pm -1:00 pm Usdan in the quiet side Usdan

Open to everyone

Olga Sendra Ferrer

osendra@wesleyan.edu