Twelve-College Exchange Program

The Twelve-College Exchange Program is a cooperative program for residential student exchange between Wesleyan and the following colleges:

Amherst College (MA)
Bowdoin College (ME)
Connecticut College (CT)
Dartmouth College (NH)*
Mount Holyoke College (MA)
National Theater Institute (CT)
Smith College (MA)
Trinity College (CT)
Vassar College (NY)
Wellesley College (MA)
Wheaton College (MA)
Williams-Mystic Seaport Program (CT)

Wesleyan sophomores, juniors, and seniors in good standing are eligible to apply to any of the participating institutions for either one semester or the full year. Participation in the Twelve-College Exchange Program by Wesleyan students does not count toward Wesleyan's residency requirement, but courses are coded for general education equivalency. Information about each of the participating colleges and programs is available on the websites linked above.

Tuition and fees are paid to the host colleges; no fees are paid to Wesleyan (except for NTI and Williams-Mystic). Financial-aid students may apply their Wesleyan assistance, with the exception of work/study benefits, toward expenses at the host college. It is the student's responsibility to complete any loan negotiations before leaving the Wesleyan campus. A Wesleyan student who participates in the exchange program is expected to abide by the rules and regulations of the host institution.

Study through the Twelve-College Exchange is subject to the Study Abroad Academic Regulations.  All courses taken at the host institution will post to your Wesleyan transcript with grades and count toward the Wesleyan GPA. This also applies to the Engineering dual degree programs at Dartmouth.


Students who wish to participate in the Twelve-College Exchange Program must apply through the Office of Study Abroad. Students may apply to only one college at a time. The deadline for submission of completed applications is February 1 for either or both semesters of the subsequent academic year. However, applications will be considered as long as space is available at the desired institution. Completed and approved applications are sent by Wesleyan to the respective colleges. If rejected by the college of their first choice, students may apply to a second college.

Students should apply through Wesleyan's ViaTRM application system. If you are interested in applying after the February 1 deadline has passed, please contact the Office of Study Abroad at