Government Majors Committee, 2018-2019

 

George Avrassoglou (2019) gavrassoglou

George is a senior Government and Economics double major with a concentration in International Politics. He is particularly interested in how global institutions function to benefit the international community. This past summer, George worked as an advisor for the Permanent Mission of Greece to the United Nations. He is currently studying abroad in Madrid, Spain to improve his Spanish.

Elias Benda (2019) ebenda

Elias is a senior Government major with a concentration in International Politics. Being born and raised in Washington, DC, he has gained a passion for US Foreign Policy and the importance of diplomatic relationships. He is passionate about statehood and representation for the almost 700,000 people living in DC, is an associate editor at Wesleyan's Arcadia Political Magazine, and one of the captains of Throw Culture, Wesleyan's mixed frisbee team.

Aaron Cheung (2019) acheung

Aaron is a senior CSS, Economics, and Government (Amer.) major. He is writing his Honors Thesis for CSS and Government on U.S. foreign policy, focusing primarily on the relationship of constitutional war powers among Congress and the President. Outside of class, Aaron is a Senator on the Wesleyan Student Assembly, the Senior Class Treasurer, Captain of Prometheus, and Social Chair of the Debate Society. Last summer, Aaron worked for Senate Minority Leader Charles Schumer as a Legislative Intern.

Carina Flaherty (2019) cflaherty

Carina is a senior Government major and CEAS minor from Philadelphia, PA. She spent the past summer working on opioid research in a social epidemiologist's lab, and studied behavioral interventions to increase community awareness of Naloxone. She studied healthcare systems abroad in Copenhagen in the Spring of 2018 and plans to pursue a career in public health. She loves running and cooking and is writing her senior thesis on adolescents and Juuling.

 

Casey Hellman (2019) chellman

Casey is a senior Government major concentrating in International Politics, and a Romance Studies major studying Spanish and French. She spent the past year abroad in Argentina and France. She is especially interested in the international human rights regime. Casey is from New York.



 

Kathleen Lynch (2019) klynch

Kathleen is a senior Government and Psychology double major from West Hartford, CT.  Her concentration is in American Politics. She spent her junior year abroad in Copenhagen, Denmark and is especially interested in US foreign policy.  After graduation, she hopes to eventually attend law school.

Sean Ross (2019) sross

Sean is a senior from San Diego, California and a Government major, concentrating in American Politics. He is also double-minoring in Economics and Data Analysis. Last summer, Sean put his enthusiasm for these subjects to use, interning with the United States Senate Committee on the Budget where he contributed to bills and amendments that reached the Senate floor. On campus, Sean works for the Wesleyan Media Project and is a member of the Men’s Varsity Ice Hockey team.