2022 Reaccreditation

Wesleyan University has been accredited by NECHE (New England Commission of Higher Education) since 1929. Every ten years Wesleyan undergoes a comprehensive self-study and review.

Wesleyan engaged in a participatory and thoughtful self-study process from Spring 2020 through Summer 2022 to prepare for the 2022 reaccreditation process. The Steering Committee worked with twelve separate sub-committees comprised of 44 faculty, staff, and students to develop multiple drafts of the self-study which were posted for community feedback. The entire Wesleyan community, including faculty, staff, students, and alumni, as well as the broader public, were encouraged to read these drafts and submit questions or comments to help the Steering Committee craft each following iteration. The final product, Wesleyan University's 2022 Self-Study, was submitted to NECHE staff and our Evaluation Team in September 2022.

The Evaluation Team visited campus November 6 - 9, 2022, then submitted their Team Report. The Commission met in March 2023 and sent Wesleyan's official letter of reaccreditation on March 15, 2023.

Wesleyan Self-Study Steering Committee:

Chair: Sheryl Culotta, associate provost for curriculum and strategic initiatives
Standards 4 and 6

Rachael Barlow, associate director for assessment
Standards 8 and 9

Charles Salas, university editor
Standards 1, 3, 5, and 7

Michael Whitcomb, director of institutional research
Standard 2


NECHE Evaluation Team Members:

Team Chair:

Leon Botstein
Bard College

Team Members:

Catherine Epstein
Provost and Dean of the Faculty
Amherst College

Jay Herlihy
Associate Dean for Finance - Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Harvard University

Hugh Lena
Provost Emeritus
Providence College

Thomas McGuinness, III
Director of Institution Research, Analysis, and Planning
Bates College

Annie Soisson
Director of the Center for the Enhancement of Learning & Teaching
Tufts University

Marianne Thomson
Associate Dean, Student Affairs
Dartmouth College