Toneburst image by Manuel J. Perez III

NetBlipz Episode Three: Toneburst Laptop and Electronic Arts Ensemble

Thursday, June 18, 2020 at 4:00pm
WESU Middletown 88.1FM

Episode Three of "NetBlipz," the new WESU Middletown 88.1FM series that puts a spotlight on the remarkable skills and imagination of the Wesleyan Music Department, features recordings of the Toneburst Laptop and Electronic Arts Ensemble, directed by Associate Professor and Chair of the Music Department Paula Matthusen. This program will also be available to stream from WESU's show archives for two weeks after the broadcast.

The Toneburst Electroextravaganza went long distance on May 4th. This broadcast made as part of the Netblipz Series developed between the Music Department, Center for the Arts, and WESU 88.1 FM features some of the works featured on that final performance.

Works featured in the broadcast include the following:

Manuel J. Perez III, N1L



Nathanael Mathieu, Apollo

Matthew Evan Taylor, Fragments of Glass

laura cetilia
, sine of the times

Laurie Anderson, Sol (arr. Toneburst)

Max Gibson
, …here, now afar…
(24 hour stream):

Pauline Oliveros, Lion’s Tale (arr. Toneburst)

Toneburst Laptop & Electronic Arts Ensemble is Nick Burnham, Jess Chen, Laura Cetilia (TA), Sherly Francois, Max Gibson, Benji Kandel-Zasloff, Kendall Kinney, Finn Li, Nathanael Mathieu, Paula Matthusen (Dir.), Daisy Mayer, Joseph McKidd, Manuel Perez III, Tiler Wilson, & Christine Zheng.

Many thanks to Professors A. L. Suwardi and Sumarsam for guidance on Lion’s Tale and to IONE and the Pauline Oliveros Trust for permission to arrange Lion’s Tale and Lion’s Eye. For recordings of those works, please visit:

The group's originally scheduled concert on April 30, 2020 in World Music Hall was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Image above by Manuel J. Perez III