John G. Monroe Prize: The Center for African American Studies inaugurated the Monroe Prize in 1985 in honor of former Wesleyan professor, John G. Monroe. The Monroe prize is awarded to the sophomore or junior in the university who submits the best essay on any subject in African American Studies. Essays must be submitted for consideration to the program office by April 1.

Vanguard Prize: The Vanguard Prize was established by black alumni in tribute to the black members of the Class of 1969, whose perseverance and pioneering leadership earned them designation as the Vanguard Class. The prize is awarded annually to a graduating senior who has achieved academic excellence and contributed to maintaining Wesleyan's racial diversity.

2019 John G. Monroe Prize Winners
Kai Williams '20

2019 Vanguard Prize Winner
Angel Martin '19
Kaiyana Cervera '19


2018 John G. Monroe Prize Winners
Kaiyana Cervera '19

2018 Vanguard Prize Winner
Ainsley Eakins '18

2017 John G. Monroe Prize Winners
Katherine Puntiel '19 
Grace Wong '18

2017 Vanguard Prize Winner
Yael Horowitz '17

2016 John G. Monroe Prize Winners
Eiljah Jimenez '18
Hailey Broughton-Jones '18

2016 Vanguard Prize Winner
Maimouna Siby '16


Vanguard Fellowship: The Vanguard Fellow is an integral part of the Center for African American Studies. The student works closely with the Center Director and Advisory Board, developing, facilitating, and implementing creative programming that supports the mission of the center. Students interested in applying to be Vanguard Fellows should contact the Center at