The Director of Academic Technology works with academic department chairs to arrange regular visits by the CIO (Dave Baird), the Director of Academic Technology (Rachel Schnepper), and the Director of User Services (Erik Quimby) to department meetings on a rotating basis. This provides an opportunity to build relationships, share information of relevance to faculty, and field questions related to services and projects.


The committee's purpose is to advise Information Technology Services leadership on proposed projects, priorities, and sequencing. Committee members are also expected to relay information to their respective areas to provide greater transparency and improve awareness of the impact these projects will have across the institution. Copies of ITS presentations delivered at these meetings are available here  (Wesleyan login required).


The Information Technology Committee is comprised of senior leadership from across the University, specifically:

  • Academic Deans for Divisions I, II, and III
  • Associate Provosts
  • Chair and Vice Chair of the Faculty
  • Chief Information Security Officer
  • Chief Investment Officer
  • Chief of Staff
  • Deputy Chief Information Officer
  • Director of Academic Technology
  • Director of User Services
  • Director, Creative Services
  • General Counsel and Secretary of the University
  • Senior Director of Enterprise Systems
  • Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost
  • Senior VP and Chief Administrative Officer and Treasurer
  • University Librarian
  • VP for Advancement
  • VP and Dean of Admission and Financial Aid
  • VP for Communications
  • VP for Equity and Inclusion / Title IX Officer
  • VP for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
  • VP for Student Affairs


Security Advisory Group

Every few months, Wesleyan’s Security Advisory Group (SAG) gathers to provide ITS with advice on issues related to data governance, privacy, and information security. Ccomprised of administrators and faculty from across campus, SAG has representation from Academic Affairs, Admission and Financial Aid, Advancement, Computer Science and Mathematics, Graduate Liberal Studies, Health Services, Human Resources, Legal Counsel, ITS, Registrar’s Office, and Student Affairs. 
2019-2020 SAG Members:

Department Representative(s)
Academic Affairs Jen Curran (Continuing Studies, GLS)
Emily Gorlewski (Study Abroad)
Mark Hovey (Office of the Provost)
Cheryl-Ann Hagner (Graduate Student Services)
Mary Kelly (Continuing Studies, GLS)
Anna van der Burg (Registrar)
Michael Whitcomb (Institutional Research)
Admission & Financial Aid Robert Coughlin
Scott Houser
Advancement Karen Hook
Career Services Rachel Munafo
Computer Science and Mathematics  Sebastian Zimmeck
Finance & Administration Val Nye
Health Services Joyce Walter
Human Resources Lisa Brommer
Legal Counsel Dave Winakor
Information Technology Services

Dave Baird
Joe Bazeley
Tom DiMauro
Jane Jylkka
Kevin Kane
Rich Langer
Steve Machuga
Dan Pflederer
Paul Turenne
Karen Warren
Steve Windsor

Student Affairs Robert Mirabal
David Phillips
Janice Watson (International Student Services)