Governing Board

The Governing Board consists of six members of Wesleyan’s Environmental Studies faculty who will work closely with the Chair and Director of the COE.  This board will help with all planning and programming as well as ensure diverse input into the running and coordination of COE. Governing Board members serve a two-year term and cannot simultaneously be a member of the Think Tank.

  • Mary Alice Haddad

    Chair, College of East Asian Studies, Associate Professor East Asian Studies and Professor of Government

    Show Bio

    Mary Alice Haddad is a Professor of Government at Wesleyan University.   Her publications include Building Democracy in Japan (Cambridge 2012), Politics and Volunteering in Japan: A Global Perspective (Cambridge 2007), co-edited with Carol Hager, NIMBY is Beautiful: Local Activism and Environmental Innovation in Germany and Beyond (Berghahn Books, forthcoming), and articles in journals such as Comparative Political Studies, Democratization, Journal of Asian Studies, and Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly.  She has received numerous grants and fellowships from organizations such as the Institute of International Education (Fulbright), the Harvard Academy for International and Area Studies, the Japan Foundation, National Endowment for the Humanities, Mellon Foundation, Maureen and Mike Mansfield Foundation, and the East Asian Institute.  She is currently working on a project about environmental politics in East Asia.

  • Katja Kolcio

    Chair, Dance and Associate Professor of Dance

    Show Bio

    Katja Kolcio, PhD. is Associate Professor of Dance at Wesleyan University. Her research is in social somatic theory, investigating the role of physical engagement and creativity in practices of knowledge production, and about modern dance as a political art form. Katja's choreography engages the community and environment within which it occurs.  Her interests also include integrating traditional arts into contemporary performance.

    Movable Pillars Creating a Foundation for Dance Studies in the Academy, 1956-1978 (2010, Wesleyan University Press),
    Branching Out: Oral Histories of the Founding of Six National Dance Organizations (2000, American Dance Guild, nominated for the De La Torre Bueno Prize),
    Faking It: The Necessary Blind Spots of Understanding (2009, Cultural Studies/Critical Methodologies), A Somatic Engagement of Technology (2005, International Journal for Performance Art and Digital Media),
    and book reviews in the Dance Research Journal and the New England Theater Journal.

    Katja has received choreographic fellowships from the New York State Council of the Arts and Meet the Composer, and has been commissioned to create original choreography/repertory by Wittenberg College, Duke University, Ohio State University (Slavic Studies Program), Antioch College, New York University (Department of Music), and Yara Arts Group (NYC). Choreography has been presented at Judson Church, New York University Black Box Theater, St. Marks Church, The Ukrainian Museum of New York, The Bridge for Dance, La Mama Experimental Theatre, the Ukrainian Institute of America, various community gardens throughout NYC, the Honchar Museum (Kyiv, Ukraine), Kyiv Mohyla Academy (Kyiv, Ukraine) and in colleges around the United States.

    Katja received her PhD in Somatics/Cultural Studies and her MA in Dance from Ohio State University and her MA in Political Science from University of Georgia.

  • Danny Krizanc

    Professor of Computer Science

    Show Bio

    Danny Krizanc received his BSc from University of Toronto in 1983 and his PhD from Harvard University in 1988, both degrees in Computer Science. He held positions at the Centruum voor Wiskunde en Informatica, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, the University of Rochester, Rochester, New York and Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada before joining the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science at Wesleyan University in 1999.  His research focus is the design and analysis of algorithms, especially as applied to distributed computing, networking and computational biology.

  • Dana Royer

    Chair, Earth and Environmental Sciences

    Show Bio

    Dana Royer is a Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Wesleyan University. He is interested in the paleoclimate and paleoecology of terrestrial ecosystems that are millions of years old, and has published over 50 papers on these topics. He teaches courses on environmental studies, climate change, paleontology, and soils. He also serves on the Board of Control for the Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station. Dana has degrees from the University of Pennsylvania (BA) and Yale University (PhD).

  • H. Shellae Versey

    Assistant Professor African American Studies, Assistant Professor Psychology

  • Krishna Winston

    Marcus L. Taft Professor of German Language and Literature

    Show Bio

    Krishna Winston is the Marcus L. Taft Professor of German Language and Literature. She is a professional translator with over thirty books and numerous shorter works to her name. Her commitment to the environment and sustainable living has its origin in her childhood, spent on a subsistence farm in southern Vermont. She helped create the the recycling programs at Wesleyan and in Middletown and was an early proponent of the College of the Environment. For many years she has chaired the  City’s Recycling Commission, which is currently promoting the goal of Zero Waste. She serves as  President of the Jonah Center for Earth and Art and as a member of its Environmental Collective Impact Network. She also serves on Wesleyan’s Sustainability Advisory Group for Environmental Stewardship. Her course on "The Simple Life?" is a First-Year Seminar crosslisted in German Studies and the College of the Environment.