Student Affairs - Dean's Office

Welcome to the Office of Student Affairs

The Office of Student Affairs is an important academic and co-curricular esource for all students, offering guidance on any issue that may affect students’ academic progress and well-being. The vice president for student affairs (VPSA) is responsible for ensuring that procedures are followed, and for developing and implementing additional procedures as necessary.

Click here for the organizational chart for the Office of Student Affairs.

 

Administration

Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs

Michael Whaley Photo

Vice President for Student Affairs

Michael J. Whaley
mwhaley@wesleyan.edu
x3160    Office Hours By Appointment

Lorna

Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs/Office Coordinator/Notary Public

Lorna Scott
lscott@wesleyan.edu
x2772

Offices and Staff

Class Deans
North College, Second Floor, x2600

Class deans are responsible for a comprehensive program of academic advising and class management in the context of a residential liberal arts environment. This includes helping students develop educational goals and complete their graduation requirements; working with faculty to support student success in the classroom; facilitating access to academic and non-academic support services; and supporting student transitions from high school through the undergraduate years to life post-Wesleyan.

Meet the Staff

Jen Wood

Dean for the Class of 2019

Jennifer Wood
jpwood@wesleyan.edu
x2758    Office Hours: M 2-3pm, T 3-4pm, W 5-7 pm, Th 11am-12 noon, F 2-4pm

Renee

Dean for the Class of 2018

Renée Johnson-Thornton
rjohnson01@wesleyan.edu
x2758    Office Hours: M 2-3pm, T 3-4pm, W 5-7 pm, Th 11am-12 noon, F 2-4pm

Louise Brown

Dean for Academic Advancement and Dean for the Class of 2017

Louise S. Brown
lsbrown@wesleyan.edu
x2758    Office Hours: M 2-3pm, T 3-4pm, W 5-7 pm, Th 11am-12 noon, F 2-4pm

David Phillips

Dean for the Class of 2016

David Phillips
dphillips@wesleyan.edu
x2765   Office Hours: M 2-3pm, T 3-4pm, W 5-7 pm, Th 11am-12 noon, F 2-4pm

TM

Administrative Assistant for the Deans for the Classes of 2016 and 2018

Teri Maheu
tmaheu@wesleyan.edu
x2765

Joan Chiari

Administrative Assistant for the Deans for the Classes of 2017 and 2019

Joan Chiari
jchiari@wesleyan.edu
x2758


Dean of Students
North College, First Floor, x2775

The Dean of Students Office has primary responsibility for the coordination of services and programs relating to students co-curricular experience. The dean of students and the assistant director of student life work with other staff in student affairs to provide a variety of programs, experiences, services and leadership opportunities that support and complement students academic experience. The office also advises the Student Judicial Board.

Meet the Staff

Rick Culliton

Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students

Rick Culliton
rculliton@wesleyan.edu
x2627    Office hours by appointment.

Scott Backer

Associate Dean of Students

Scott Backer
sbacker01@wesleyan.edu
x2627    Office hours by appointment.

Zack Pfeifer

Coordinator of Greek Life

Zack Pfeifer
zpfeifer@wesleyan.edu
x2773    Office hours by appointment.

Karen

Administrative Assistant for the Office of the Dean of Students

Karen Karpa
kkarpa@wesleyan.edu
x2775


Office of International Student Affairs
North College, 237 High Street, Rm 121, x3704 (Janice Watson) and Allbritton 214, x2832 (Alice Hadler)

The Office of International Student Affairs provides advice and counsel on every aspect of international students' adjustment to life at Wesleyan--cultural, academic, personal, financial, and immigration. The Office also organizes International Student Orientation and ongoing programs that explore the complexities and intersections among U.S. diversity, international issues, and global citizenship.

Meet the Staff

Alice Hadler

Associate Dean for International Student Affairs and Writing Program Coordinator for International Students

Alice Hadler

Butterfield B 310
ahadler@wesleyan.edu
x2832

Janice Watson

Coordinator for International Students

Janice Watson

jwatson@wesleyan.edu
x3704


Office of Residential Life
North College, Lower Level, x3550

Residential Life provides a safe and supportive residential environment which complements and extends the Wesleyan educational experience. Student-centered programs and services are implemented with emphasis on holistic individual and community development, student leadership, individual responsibility, advocacy of academic inquiry, and freedom of thought, opinion and expression in the spirit of mutual respect. These are the hallmarks of the Wesleyan residential experience, and provide the essential foundation for a quality liberal education within a diverse and dynamic community.

 

Meet the Staff

Fran Koertig

Director

Fran Koerting
fkoerting@wesleyan.edu

Maureen Isleib

Associate Director

Maureen Isleib

misleib@wesleyan.edu

Stacey

Assistant Director

Stacey Phelps

sphelps@wesleyan.edu

 


Office of Religious and Spiritual Life
169 High Street

Spiritual life at Wesleyan is shaped by the wide range and depth of students’ questions and interests. Each of the four Chaplains sponsors a weekly service. All students are welcome and encouraged to attend any and all of these services; and students assume many of the responsibilities for planning and leading these services. The Chaplains also work together to sponsor several multi-faith events during the year.

Meet the Chaplains

Rabbi David

University Jewish Chaplain

Rabbi David Leipziger Teva
dleipziger@wesleyan.edu
860-685-2278

University Roman Catholic Chaplain

William J. Wallace
wwallace@wesleyan.edu
860-685-2285

University Muslim Chaplain

Kaiser Alam
kalam@wesleyan.edu

Tracy Muska

University Protestant Chaplain

Tracey Mehr-Muska
tmehrmuska@wesleyan.edu
860-685-2277


Student Activities and Leadership Development
45 Wyllis Ave., Usdan Center, x2460

Student Activities and Leadership Development provides advice, guidance and acts as a resource for students and student organizations. Its goal is to help student organizers be successful in planning social, cultural, intellectual, political, and recreational programs. The office enhances out-of-classroom experiences that promote personal development and leadership training.

Meet the Staff

Elisa Cardona

Director of Student Activities & Leadership Development/New Student Orientation

Elisa Cardona

ecardona@wesleyan.edu

860.685.2143

Bulaong Ramiz

Bulaong Ramiz, Assistant Director of Student Activies & Leadership Development/New Student Orientation

860.685.2143 

http://www.wesleyan.edu/usdan/index.html

The Usdan University Center at Wesleyan University is a focal point of activity and central programming space for the campus community.  It provides a comfortable gathering place for students, staff, faculty, alumni and visitors and plays a significant role in enhancing the sense of community on campus. Programs in the Usdan Center foster the intellectual exchange between students, faculty, staff and alumni.

Meet the Staff

USDAN ADMINISTRATION

Michelle Myers Brown

Director of the Usdan Center

Michelle Myers-Brown
mmyersbrown@wesleyan.edu
860.685.3616

Joanne Rafferty

Associate Director of Operations

Joanne Rafferty
jrafferty@wesleyan.edu
860.685-2469

Frank Marsilli

Facility and Events Manager for the Usdan Center

Frenk Marsilli
fmarsilli@wesleyan.edu
860.685-3559

Rachel Prehoda Spindel

Facility and Events Manager for the Chapel

Rachel Prehodka-Spindel
rprehodkaspi@wesleyan.edu
860.685-2787


http://www.wesleyan.edu/usdan/contact.html

If you would like to schedule an event, whether at Usdan or Wesleyan, please contact the Events and Scheduling Team.

Meet the Staff

University Events and Scheduling

Reservations

860.685-2280
events-sched@wesleyan.edu

Nate Lerner

Director

Nate Lerner
nlerner@wesleyan.edu
860.685.4780

Kathleen Roberts

Assistant Director

Kathleen Roberts
kroberts@wesleyan.edu
860.685.4266

Allison Grella

Assistant Director

Allison Grella
agrella@wesleyan.edu
860.685.3762