Student Affairs - Dean's Office

Welcome to the Office of Student Affairs

The Office of Student Affairs is an important academic and co-curricular esource for all students, offering guidance on any issue that may affect students’ academic progress and well-being. The vice president for student affairs (VPSA) is responsible for ensuring that procedures are followed, and for developing and implementing additional procedures as necessary.

Click here for the organizational chart for the Office of Student Affairs.

Vice President for Student Affairs

Lorna Scott, Michael Whaley

 

Administration

Vice President for Student Affairs

Michael J. Whaley
mwhaley@wesleyan.edu
x3160    Office Hours By Appointment

Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs/Office Coordinator/Notary Public

Lorna Scott
lscott@wesleyan.edu
x2772

Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students

Rick Culliton
rculliton@wesleyan.edu
x2627    Office Hours By Appointment

Dean for Academic Advancement

Louise Brown
lsbrown@wesleyan.edu
x2758    Office Hours: M 2-3pm, T 3-4pm, W 5-7pm, Th 11-12am, F 2-4pm

Offices and Staff

Class Deans
North College, Second Floor, x2600

Class deans are responsible for a comprehensive program of academic advising and class management in the context of a residential liberal arts environment. This includes helping students develop educational goals and complete their graduation requirements; working with faculty to support student success in the classroom; facilitating access to academic and non-academic support services; and supporting student transitions from high school through the undergraduate years to life post-Wesleyan.

Meet the Staff

Dean for the Class of 2018

Marina Melendez
mmelendez@wesleyan.edu
x2764    Office Hours: M 2-3pm, T 3-4pm, W 5-7 pm, Th 11am-12 noon, F 2-4pm

Dean for Academic Advancement and Dean for the Class of 2017

Louise S. Brown
lsbrown@wesleyan.edu
x2758    Office Hours: M 2-3pm, T 3-4pm, W 5-7 pm, Th 11am-12 noon, F 2-4pm

Dean for the Class of 2016

David Phillips
dphillips@wesleyan.edu
x2774    Office Hours: M 2-3pm, T 3-4pm, W 5-7 pm, Th 11am-12 noon, F 2-4pm

Dean for the Class of 2015

Jennifer Wood
jpwood@wesleyan.edu
x2774    Office Hours: M 2-3pm, T 3-4pm, W 5-7 pm, Th 11am-12 noon, F 2-4pm

Administrative Assistant for the Deans for the Classes of 2016 and 2018

Teri Maheu
tmaheu@wesleyan.edu
x2765

Administrative Assistant for the Deans for the Classes of 2013 and 2015
 x2758


Dean of Students
North College, First Floor, x2775

The Dean of Students Office has primary responsibility for the coordination of services and programs relating to students co-curricular experience. The dean of students and the assistant director of student life work with other staff in student affairs to provide a variety of programs, experiences, services and leadership opportunities that support and complement students academic experience. The office also advises the Student Judicial Board.

 

Rick Culliton, Karen Karpa, Scott Backer

Meet the Staff

Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students

Rick Culliton
rculliton@wesleyan.edu
x2627    Office hours by appointment.

Associate Dean for Students

Scott Backer
sbacker01@wesleyan.edu
x2627    Office hours by appointment.

Administrative Assistant for the Office of the Dean of Students

Karen Karpa
kkarpa@wesleyan.edu
x2775


Office of International Student Affairs
North College, 237 High Street, Rm 121, x3704 (Janice Watson) and Allbritton 214, x2832 (Alice Hadler)

The Office of International Student Affairs provides advice and counsel on every aspect of international students' adjustment to life at Wesleyan--cultural, academic, personal, financial, and immigration. The Office also organizes International Student Orientation and ongoing programs that explore the complexities and intersections among U.S. diversity, international issues, and global citizenship.

International Student Affairs

Alice Hadler, Janice Watson

Meet the Staff

Associate Dean for International Student Affairs and Writing Program Coordinator for International Students

Alice Hadler
Butterfield B 310
ahadler@wesleyan.edu
x2832

Coordinator for International Students

Janice Watson
jwatson@wesleyan.edu
x3704


Office of Residential Life
North College, Lower Level, x3550

Residential Life provides a safe and supportive residential environment which complements and extends the Wesleyan educational experience. Student-centered programs and services are implemented with emphasis on holistic individual and community development, student leadership, individual responsibility, advocacy of academic inquiry, and freedom of thought, opinion and expression in the spirit of mutual respect. These are the hallmarks of the Wesleyan residential experience, and provide the essential foundation for a quality liberal education within a diverse and dynamic community.

Office of Residential Life

Kathleen Roberts, Residential Operations Coordinator; Fran Koerting, Director; Brian Nangle, Area Coordinator; Stacey Phelps, Assistant Director; Daniel LaBonte, Area Coordinator; Maureen Isleib, Associate Director; Jonathan Connary, Area Coordinator; Liliana Carrasquillo, Area Coordinator; Amy Miller, Assignments Coordinator; Krystal-Gayle O'Neill, Area Coordinator

 

Meet the Staff

Director

Fran Koerting
fkoerting@wesleyan.edu

Associate Director

Maureen Isleib
misleib@wesleyan.edu

Assistant Director

Stacey Phelps
sphelps@wesleyan.edu

Assignments Coordinator

Amy Miller
amiller01@wesleyan.edu

Residential Operations Coordinator

Kathleen Roberts
kroberts@wesleyan.edu

Area Coordinators

Liliana Carrasquillo
lcarrasquill@wesleyan.edu
Butterfields, 156 High Street, and 200 Church

Jonathan Connary
jconnary@wesleyan.edu
Clark, Fauver Residence Hall, and West College

Daniel LaBonte
dlabonte@wesleyan.edu

Brian Nangle
bnangle@wesleyan.edu
Apartments and Wood Frames

Krystal-Gayle O'Neill
koneill@wesleyan.edu


Office of Religious and Spiritual Life
169 High Street

Spiritual life at Wesleyan is shaped by the wide range and depth of students’ questions and interests. Each of the four Chaplains sponsors a weekly service. All students are welcome and encouraged to attend any and all of these services; and students assume many of the responsibilities for planning and leading these services. The Chaplains also work together to sponsor several multi-faith events during the year.

ORSL Staff

Rabbi David Leipziger Teva, Father Hal Weidner

Not Photographed: Tracy Mehr-Muska, Protestant Chaplain

Meet the Chaplains

University Jewish Chaplain

Rabbi David Leipziger Teva
dleipziger@wesleyan.edu
860-685-2278

University Roman Catholic Chaplain

Father Hal Weidner
hweidner@wesleyan.edu
860-685-2285

University Muslim Chaplain

TBA

University Protestant Chaplain

Tracey Mehr-Muska
tmehrmuska@wesleyan.edu
860-685-2277


Student Activities and Leadership Development
45 Wyllis Ave., Usdan Center, x2460

Student Activities and Leadership Development provides advice, guidance and acts as a resource for students and student organizations. Its goal is to help student organizers be successful in planning social, cultural, intellectual, political, and recreational programs. The office enhances out-of-classroom experiences that promote personal development and leadership training.

SALD

Elisa Cardona

Meet the Staff

Associate Director

Elisa Cardona
edelvalle@wesleyan.edu
860.685.2143