Squire Fund

The department makes grants to students from the Squire Fund, which help cover part of the cost of study abroad or other classics-related research and travel, including summer intensive language courses and summer archaeological fieldwork. In 2005-2011 the following students were given grants.  Click here to learn more about the Squire Fund.

2010-2011 Ellie Damaskos, Nathaniel Durant,
2009-2010 Christina Burkot, Lindsey Davis,Susie Howe, Fotini Xenidis
2008-2009 Jessica Cepeda, Stephen Grodski, Christopher Kaltsas, and Anna Pachner
2007-2008 Paul Gerdes, Peter Gilchrist, Samuel Kachuck, Morgan McCray and Anna Pachner
2006-2007 Tess Amodeo-Vickery, Carly Bollinger, Joanna Kenty, Stephanie Leung, Anna Pachner, Emily Palmer, Thomas Van Denburgh, Jordana Wolf and Fred Zenker
2005-2006 Tess Amodeo-Vickery, David Edwards, Joanna Kenty, Sara Maeder, Max Matthews, Sabrina Perez, Cory Savereid, Jordana Wolf and Fred Zenker
2004-2005 Jeff Delauter, Julie Levy and Jordana Wolf

Ingraham Prize

The Ingraham Prize is the gift of Robert Seney Ingraham, Class of 1888, and his wife, for excellence in New Testament Greek or, in years when a course in that subject is not given, for excellence in a course in Greek elective for juniors and seniors.  In 2005-2010 the following students received the Ingraham Prize.

2011-2012 Elizabeth Damaskos ('12), Linda Kung ('12)
2010-2011 Kevin McKeown ('11), Henry Thornhill ('11)
2009-2010 Stephen Grodski ('10), Allison House ('11)
2008-2009 Thomas Van Denburgh ('09), Eric Weiskott ('09)
2007-2008 Thea De Armond ('09), Thomas Van Denburgh ('09)
2006-2007 Sara Maeder ('08) and Margaret Sinick ('07)
2005-2006 Lydia Bell ('07) and Deborah Schwartz ('07)

Michelle Columbus ('05), Brigid Dwyer ('05) and Simone Walters ('05)

Sherman Prize

Established by David Sherman, Class of 1872, the Sherman Prize is given for excellence in Classics.  In 2005-2010 the following students were awarded the Sherman Prize.

2011-2012 Adam Peck ('12)
2010-2011 Susan Howe ('11)
2009-2010 Christi Richardson ('10)
2008-2009 Erick Weiskott ('09)
2007-2008 Joanna Kenty ('08)
2006-2007 Amelia Nebenhaus ('07)
2005-2006 Christie Roberts ('06)
2004-2005 Lydia Bell ('07)


Spinney Prize

The Spinney Prize is the gift of Joseph S. Spinney, trustee 1875-82 and 1888-93, for the best original essay on some aspect of Greek or Roman civilization.  In 2005-2010 the Spinney Prize was presented to the following students.

2011-2012 Nathaniel Durant('12) and Nora Hoover ('12)
2010-2011 Allison House ('11) and Amanda Sweeney ('11)
2008-2009 Fred Zenker ('09)
2007-2008 Francie Jones ('08), Joanna Kenty ('08), Sara Maeder ('08) and Jordana Wolf ('08)
2006-2007 Tess Amodeo-Vickery ('07) and Deborah Schwartz ('07)
2005-2006 Daniel Matzkin ('06)
2004-2005 Leland Smith ('05)


Phi Beta Kappa

The oldest national scholastic honor society, Phi Beta Kappa at Wesleyan, is limited to 12 percent of the graduating class each year. Election to the society is based on grades and fulfillment of the eligibility requirements listed in the Wesleyan Catalog. In Fall 2010 Allison House (Classics/Music) was elected to the Phi Beta Kappa.