Wesleyan’s Fries Center for Global Studies benefits from the advice and collaboration of the following faculty groups.

Fries Center for Global Studies Advisory Board

The Vice President for Academic Affairs appoints two members from each division to work with the Director of the FCGS in formulating policies and making decisions aimed at advancing the center’s mission.  Membership on the Advisory Board for the 2021-22 academic year is as follows:

Division I: 

  • Marguerite Nguyen (English; Environmental Studies; College of East Asian Studies)
  • Marco Aresu (Romance Languages and Literatures; Medieval Studies)

Division II:

  •  Anu Sharma (Anthropology; Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies) (Fall 2021)/ Daniela Gandolfo (Anthropology)(Spring 2022)
  • Laura Ann Twagira (History; College of Social Studies; Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies; College of Social Studies; Science in Society)

Division III: 

  • Rich Olson (Molecular Biology and Biochemistry; College of Integrative Sciences)
  • Matt Kurtz (Psychology; Neuroscience and Behavior)

Graduate Student: Lorencia Chigweshe, GRAD (Molecular Biology and Biochemistry)

Past Advisory boards can be found here.

Language Resources and Technology Committee

The Director of the FCGS invites language teaching faculty to collaborate with the Director of Language Resources & Technology in programming presentations, workshops and other events aimed at enhancing language learning at Wesleyan.  Members of the 2021-22 LRT committee are: 

  • Abderrahman Aissa (Arabic)
  • Hyejoo Back (Korean)
  • Iris Bork-Goldfield (German)
  • Elizabeth Hepford (English; TESOL)
  • Dalit Katz (Hebrew)
  • Ana María Pérez-Gironés (Spanish)
  • Camilla Zamboni (Italian)

Wesleyan Programs Abroad Committee

The Director of the FCGS invites faculty representatives to collaborate with the Director of Study Abroad in managing Wesleyan’s programs in Bologna (Italy), Madrid (Spain), and Paris (France).  Invitations are extended ordinarily to faculty who are soon to serve or who have recently served as Resident Director of one of these programs. The Director of Study Abroad convenes the committee regularly to plan and discuss strategies for promoting study abroad and recruiting both Wesleyan and non-Wesleyan participants.  Committee members review applications for their respective programs.  They participate, as well, in planning for the annual meeting of the consortium with representatives from Vassar College (Bologna, Madrid, Paris) and Wellesley (Bologna). Members of the 2021-22 WPAC are:

  • Marco Aresu (Program in Bologna, Italy)
  • Michael Armstrong-Roche (Program in Madrid, Spain)
  • Michael Meere (Program in Paris, France)